About Johns Hopkins


Return to News Releases

MEDIA ADVISORY: 300 Baltimore City Public Schools Students to Compete in Robotics Contest at JHU

January 10, 2019
CONTACT: Erin Burk
Cell: (443) 228-8407
eburk@jhu.edu On Twitter: @JHUmediareps

WHAT: More than 300 elementary, middle, and high school Baltimore City Public Schools students will compete in the Hopkins Robotics Cup, the Baltimore City VEX and VEX IQ Robotics League championship event. With guidance from teachers and mentors, 68 teams of two to four students from 33 schools will build innovative robots designed to score the most points possible in qualification matches, elimination matches and skills challenges. The winner of each division will be crowned League Champion and go on to the Maryland State Championship in February and March. A list of participating schools and groups is below.

WHEN: 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. on Saturday, Jan. 12. Note: Best times to view the robots in action are between 9 a.m. and 11:30 a.m., or between 12:30 p.m. and 3:30 p.m. Awards will be given out between 3:30 p.m. and 4 p.m.

WHERE: The Newton White Athletic Center on the Johns Hopkins University’s Homewood campus, 3400 N. Charles St., Baltimore, Md. 21218

 WHY: The event is hosted by the Center for Educational Outreach at Johns Hopkins’ Whiting School of Engineering in partnership with Baltimore City Public Schools and sponsored by a grant from Northrop Grumman. The center’s mission is to increase the number of youth who pursue science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) education and careers, particularly women and underrepresented minorities.

SUPERVISOR FOR THE EVENT: The tournament director is Erin Burk. Cell: (443) 228-8407.

Competition rules can be viewed here:



Participating Schools and Groups (Some schools send more than one team):

Armistead Gardens Elementary/Middle School
Baltimore International Academy
Baltimore Robotics Center
Empowerment Academy
Fallstaff Elementary/Middle School
George Washington Elementary School
Hamilton Elementary Middle School
Hazelwood Elementary/Middle School
Highlandtown Elementary/Middle School (#237)
John Ruhrah Elementary/Middle School
Joseph C. Briscoe Academy
Lakeland Elementary Middle School
Monarch Academy Public Charter School
Mount Royal Elementary/Middle School
New Song Academy
Patterson Park Public Charter School
Pimlico Elementary/Middle School
The Mount Washington School
Thomas Jefferson Elementary/Middle School

Baltimore City College
Baltimore Leadership School for Young Women
Baltimore Polytechnic Institute
BCCC 4-H Upward Bound Math and Science Program
Career Academy
Carver Vocational-Technical High School
Cherry Hill Elementary/Middle School
Cross Country Elementary/Middle School
Digital Harbor High School
Edmonson-Westside High School
Forest Park High School
Hazelwood Elementary/Middle School
Mergenthaler Vocational-Technical High School
Mount Royal Elementary/Middle School
New Song Academy
Patterson High School
Patterson Park Public Charter School
Paul Laurence Dunbar High School
The Reach! Partnership School
Tench Tilghman Elementary/Middle School


Office of Communications
Johns Hopkins University
3910 Keswick Road, Suite N2600
Baltimore, Maryland 21211
Phone: 443-997-9009 | Fax: 443 997-1006